Home > Docker > Beware of Docker updates

Beware of Docker updates

2022/04/30

At a certain point this month there was a new Docker update, 4.7.
Well, everyone says that when there is an update, you must update, right?
The problem was that unfortunately, I had an SQL Server 2019 Docker container (Windows) dev database, with the same name of a .mdf on my local disk.
Probably I made a mistake and I had not created the database on the host drive (my HP notebook) but inside the container, and tricked from the database name I was believing that this database was securely hosted on the host, with regular backup on the cloud.
After the update, I discovered that there is no more Windows image for SQL Server 2019! and my container .. gone, dev database: is lost.
Ok, fortunately, there were only a few tables that I can recreate from the classes in a Visual Studio 2022 solution, some sample records that I can regenerate: but still half a day of work.
Probably having no more a specific Windows image in a Docker repository the rule is: erase every container that uses images no more supported.
Now, SQL Server is installed directly on my notebook… ok, but a little alert before updating?

Categories: Docker